Research Reflections 2

    Opposing Viewpoints has become a source that I use very often. In fact, I found most of my sources on my working bibliography through Opposing Viewpoints. It is useful to me and I can easily narrow down a search with it. I like that it has a search box because it makes it easy to search for a specific topic. For instance, I can narrow down my search to “child soldiers in Sierra Leone” instead of just “child soldiers” or “Sierra Leone”. I also like Opposing Viewpoints because some of the sources I found came from children who have seen war and fought in war first-hand. This database also contains sources that argue over whether or not children under the age of 18 should be able to fight in war and why. Both sides of the arguments have been very interesting to me and I have learned a lot from reading articles which propose either side.
    I have found other sources through Opposing Viewpoints that tell the history of child soldiers from when they were first introduced in war to why they are used as soldiers. This information is valuable to me because I want to know why children are used as soldiers. I might even try to answer that question in my essay. Some of the information that I have found about why certain countries use children in warfare has proven to be very thought-provoking.
~ by kristinsundvall on November 3, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
